AB 241 – Assembly Floor

Clean Transportation Program Modernization

AB 126 is formerly two other bills: AB 241 and SB 84. Decarbonizing transportation requires sustainable funding commitments for programs that can spur transformative change, like the Clean Transportation Program (CTP). The CTP currently receives approximately $100 million annually and was set to sunset on January 1, 2024, prior to the bill's passage. AB 126 extends the existing fees that fund the program, at their current levels, through 2035. The bill also modernizes the CTP to support zero-emission vehicles and infrastructure, while also requiring 50% of funding be spent on programs and projects that directly serve residents of disadvantaged and low-income communities.

Author: Eloise Gómez Reyes, Lena Gonzalez, David Alvarez, Laura Friedman, Luz Rivas, and Nancy Skinner

View Bill

Bill info from the legislature

Issues: Transportation and Land Use

Signed into Law


Signed into Law


61 Yes
12 No
7 Abstain


30 Yes
8 No
2 Abstain



AB 241 – Assembly Floor VotesVote Date: 6/26/23 

Member Vote
Dawn Addis (D) Yes
Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D) Yes
Juan Alanis (R) No
David Alvarez (D) Abstain
Joaquin Arambula (D) Yes
Jasmeet Bains (D) Abstain
Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D) Abstain
Steve Bennett (D) Yes
Marc Berman (D) Yes
Tasha Boerner (D) Yes
Mia Bonta (D) Yes
Isaac Bryan (D) Yes
Lisa Calderon (D) Yes
Juan Carrillo (D) Abstain
Wendy Carrillo (D) Yes
Sabrina Cervantes (D) Yes
Phillip Chen (R) No
Damon Connolly (D) Yes
Megan Dahle (R) No
Laurie Davies (R) No
Diane Dixon (R) No
Bill Essayli (R) No
Heath Flora (R) No
Mike Fong (D) Yes
Vince Fong (R) No
Laura Friedman (D) Yes
Jesse Gabriel (D) Yes
James Gallagher (R) No
Eduardo Garcia (D) Excused Absence
Mike Gipson (D) Yes
Tim Grayson (D) Excused Absence
Matt Haney (D) Yes
Gregg Hart (D) Yes
Chris Holden (D) Yes
Josh Hoover (R) No
Jacqui Irwin (D) Abstain
Corey Jackson (D) Yes
Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D) Excused Absence
Ash Kalra (D) Yes
Tom Lackey (R) No
Alex Lee (D) Yes
Evan Low (D) Yes
Josh Lowenthal (D) Yes
Brian Maienschein (D) Yes
Devon Mathis (R) No
Kevin McCarty (D) Yes
Tina McKinnor (D) Yes
Al Muratsuchi (D) Yes
Stephanie Nguyen (D) Abstain
Liz Ortega (D) Yes
Blanca Pacheco (D) Yes
Diane Papan (D) Yes
Jim Patterson (R) No
Joe Patterson (R) No
Gail Pellerin (D) Yes
Cottie Petrie Norris (D) Abstain
Sharon Quirk-Silva (D) Yes
James Ramos (D) Yes
Anthony Rendon (D) Yes
Eloise Gómez Reyes (D) Yes
Luz Rivas (D) Yes
Robert Rivas (D) Yes
Freddie Rodriguez (D) Abstain
Blanca Rubio (D) Abstain
Kate Sanchez (R) No
Miguel Santiago (D) Yes
Pilar Schiavo (D) Yes
Esmeralda Soria (D) Abstain
Tri Ta (R) No
Phillip Ting (D) Yes
Avelino Valencia (D) Abstain
Carlos Villapudua (D) Abstain
Marie Waldron (R) No
Greg Wallis (R) No
Christopher Ward (D) Yes
Akilah Weber (D) Yes
Buffy Wicks (D) Yes
Lori Wilson (D) Excused Absence
Jim Wood (D) Yes
Rick Chavez Zbur (D) Yes